Book Review

The Intern by Michele Campbell [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Intern

Author: Michele Campbell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Publish Date: October 3, 2023

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

The Intern by Michele Campbell

BOOK BLURB

A young Harvard law student falls under the spell of a charismatic judge in this timely and thrilling novel about class, ambition, family and murder.

Madison Rivera lands the internship of a lifetime working for Judge Kathryn Conroy. But Madison has a secret that could destroy her career. Her troubled younger brother Danny has been arrested, and Conroy is the judge on his case.

When Danny goes missing after accusing the judge of corruption, Madison’s quest for answers brings her deep into the judge’s glamorous world. Is Kathryn Conroy a mentor, a victim, or a criminal? Is she trying to help Madison or use her as a pawn? And why is somebody trying to kill her?

As the two women circle each other in a dangerous cat-and-mouse game, will they save each other, or will betrayal leave one of them dead?


The Intern by Michele Campbell

MY REVIEW

Madison is a law student who gets an internship for a popular judge. During the interview, Madison left out a few details about her family, like that her brother is in prison.

The Intern is told using the points of view of Madison and Kathryn. Madison is a law student with pressure from her family to help her brother. He’s in prison for a crime he says he didn’t commit. Kathryn is the judge Madison interns for, and also the judge on Madison’s brother’s case. Madison hopes Kathryn will be a mentor, but their relationship becomes more complicated.

Complex characters in a intriguing mystery. Recommended for fans of legal thrillers.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books by Michele Campbell:
  1. It’s Always the Husband
  2. She Was the Quiet One
  3. A Stranger on the Beach
  4. The Wife Who Knew Too Much
  5. The Intern
Book Review

Final Table by Dan Schorr [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Final Table

Author: Dan Schorr

Publisher: SparkPress

Publish Date: October 5, 2021

Genre: Political Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

Final Table by Dan Schorr

BOOK BLURB

Former White House staffer Maggie Raster is struggling to build her own consulting firm and overcome a recent sexual assault by an ex-boss. Kyler Dawson, a broke former poker champion, desperately needs to gain entry into a controversial but potentially very lucrative international poker tournament. The host nation faces widespread condemnation for the recent murder of a prominent female US journalist, and a pending presidential executive order threatens to prohibit him and others from participating.

Maggie’s chaotic first attempt to promote her new business as a television political analyst brings her to Kyler’s attention, and convinces him that her political smarts and connections can provide the help he needs. When he approaches her for assistance, she must decide whether to agree—in return for a portion of the potential $20 million prize. To succeed, she will have to confront numerous challenges—personal and political, foreign and domestic—including mounting pressure to publicly address the misconduct of her former boss. Kyler also has his own obstacles and upsetting past to overcome, but if they each can outmaneuver their daunting challenges, he might win the tournament—and earn them both a fortune.


Final Table by Dan Schorr

MY REVIEW

Poker and politics come together in Final Table to create an intriguing novel.

Final Table is told using the alternating points of view of Maggie and Kyler. Maggie is a former White House staffer trying to start her own consulting business. Kyler is a down on his luck professional poker player. They come together due to a unique situation involving a high stakes poker game hosted in a country under fire for the recent murder of a US journalist. The host country is being called out for the recent murder, plus the unjust treatment of its citizens. Meanwhile, Maggie and Kyler are both fighting battles in their personal lives. It’s not a safe time to travel, but Maggie and Kyler both have a lot to gain if they can work together.

With multiple storylines, a lot happens in this book to keep the reader interested. At times, I felt too much was happening, but still found it to be an entertaining read.

A great debut novel. Good for readers who enjoy poker and political thrillers.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Book Review

Silent Bite by David Rosenfelt [Book Review]

Silent Bite by David Rosenfelt

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Silent Bite

Author: David Rosenfelt

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Publish Date: October 13, 2020

Genre: Crime & Detective

Series: Andy Carpenter #22

My Rating: 4/5

Silent Bite by David Rosenfelt

BOOK BLURB

Andy Carpenter and his golden retriever, Tara, are finding that all is not calm or bright in Silent Bite, the latest Christmas mystery in this heartwarming series from bestselling author David Rosenfelt.

Lawyer Andy Carpenter can finally take a breath; he’s back on dry land after a family Caribbean cruise forced on him by his wife, Laurie, to get into the Christmas spirit. Of course the family’s first stop is to the Tara Foundation, the dog rescue organization that has always been Andy’s true passion.

But when Andy arrives, his partner, Willie Miller, needs his help. Willie’s old cellmate, Tony Birch, has been arrested for murder. Andy doesn’t necessarily believe in Tony, but Willie does. And Andy believes in Willie, which is why Andy decides to take the case.

Once again David Rosenfelt puts readers in the Christmas spirit in a tale that is equal parts mystery and holiday cheer.


Silent Bite by David Rosenfelt

MY REVIEW

Silent Bite is the 22nd book in the Andy Carpenter mystery series by David Rosenfelt. Andy is a defense attorney, and semi-retired. He’s not looking for any new cases, but Willie asks Andy to defend his friend and former cellmate accused of murder. Willie is Andy’s friend and business partner – they started the Tara Foundation, a dog rescue organization. Andy isn’t thrilled about the case, but he decides to take it on.

This is a series I enjoy, and I’m always excited to read the latest addition to it. I recommend reading the series in order, but this book can be read as a standalone.

A fast-paced mystery with interesting characters and a gripping plot. Recommended for fans of legal thrillers and books featuring dogs. Complex, humorous, and exciting.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Andy Carpenter series:
  1. Open and Shut
  2. First Degree
  3. Bury the Lead
  4. Sudden Death
  5. Dead Center
  6. Play Dead
  7. New Tricks
  8. Dog Tags
  9. One Dog Night
  10. Leader of the Pack
  11. Unleashed
  12. Hounded
  13. Who Let the Dog Out?
  14. Outfoxed
  15. The Twelve Dogs of Christmas
  16. Collared
  17. Rescued
  18. Deck the Hounds
  19. Bark of Night
  20. Dachshund Through the Snow
  21. Muzzled
  22. Silent Bite
Book Review

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Murder List

Author: Hank Phillippi Ryan

Publisher: Forge Books

Publish Date: August 20, 2019

Genre: Legal Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 3/5

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

BOOK BLURB

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–she’s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.


The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

MY REVIEW

Rachel is in law school and gets an internship with the district attorney’s office. This causes problems in Rachel’s marriage because her husband is a defense attorney, and his biggest enemy is the DA. During her internship, a cold case is reopened. One that Rachel has a connection with from her days working with a senator.

This novel alternates between past and present. Rachel is smart and driven. Her husband is a successful defense attorney, and they have plans for her to get a law degree so they can work together. Before getting married, Rachel worked for a senator. During her time there, a coworker was killed and the murderer was never found. During her internship with the DA’s office, that old murder case is revisited when new leads are found.

The Murder List is a simple story told in a complex way. The murder mystery is who killed a woman that worked for a senator. As the past meets present, old secrets are revealed. Each character seems to have an ulterior motive, making for an absorbing thriller.

A good read for fans of legal thrillers. Suspenseful, clever, and twisted.

I received a digital copy of this book from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.

Books by Hank Phillippi Ryan:
  1. Trust Me
  2. The Murder List
  3. The First to Lie
  4. Her Perfect Life