Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan


BOOK INFO

Title: The Murder List
Author: Hank Phillippi Ryan
Publisher: Forge Books
Publish Date: August 20, 2019
Genre: Mystery Thriller
Series: n/a
Goodreads Ratings: Me 3.0 / Community 4.48


BOOK BLURB

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–she’s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.


Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads


MY REVIEW

Rachel is in law school and gets an internship with the district attorney’s office. This causes problems in Rachel’s marriage because her husband is a defense attorney, and his biggest enemy is the DA. During her internship, a cold case is reopened. One that Rachel has a connection with from her days working with a senator.

This novel alternates between past and present. Rachel is smart and driven. Her husband is a successful defense attorney, and they have plans for her to get a law degree so they can work together. Before getting married, Rachel worked for a senator. During her time there, a coworker was killed and the murderer was never found. During her internship with the DA’s office, that old murder case is revisited when new leads are found.

A simple story told in a complex way. The murder mystery is who killed a woman that worked for a senator. As the past meets present, old secrets are revealed. Each character seems to have an ulterior motive, making for an absorbing thriller.

A good read for fans of legal thrillers. Suspenseful, clever, and twisted.

I received a free ARC of The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.


Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.