Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Murder List
Author: Hank Phillippi Ryan
Publisher: Forge Books
Publish Date: August 20, 2019
Genre: Mystery Thriller
Series: n/a
My Rating: 3/5


BOOK BLURB

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, sheโ€™s a hard worker, she does the right thing, sheโ€™s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–sheโ€™s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Rachel is in law school and gets an internship with the district attorney’s office. This causes problems in Rachel’s marriage because her husband is a defense attorney, and his biggest enemy is the DA. During her internship, a cold case is reopened. One that Rachel has a connection with from her days working with a senator.

This novel alternates between past and present. Rachel is smart and driven. Her husband is a successful defense attorney, and they have plans for her to get a law degree so they can work together. Before getting married, Rachel worked for a senator. During her time there, a coworker was killed and the murderer was never found. During her internship with the DA’s office, that old murder case is revisited when new leads are found.

A simple story told in a complex way. The murder mystery is who killed a woman that worked for a senator. As the past meets present, old secrets are revealed. Each character seems to have an ulterior motive, making for an absorbing thriller.

A good read for fans of legal thrillers. Suspenseful, clever, and twisted.

I received a free digital copy of this book from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.