Book Review

Heartbreak Bay by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Heartbreak Bay

Author: Rachel Caine

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publish Date: March 9, 2021

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: Stillhouse Lake #5

My Rating: 4/5

Heartbreak Bay by Rachel Caine

BOOK BLURB

They’re hunting a killer so silent, so invisible, that his unspeakable crimes are the only proof he exists.

A car submerged in a remote pond. The bodies of two girls strapped into their seats. The mystery of their mother, vanished without a trace, leads Gwen Proctor and Kezia Claremont into dangerous territory.

On the surface, Gwen’s life is good—two children approaching adulthood, a committed partner, and a harrowing past dead and gone. But that past is attracting the attention of someone invisible…and unstoppable. Trouble’s just beginning. So is the body count in this backwoods Tennessee town.

As threats mount and Gwen’s hunted by an enemy who pulls all the strings, Kezia has her back. But working to solve these vicious and unreasonable crimes will expose them both to a killer they can’t for the life of them see coming.


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Heartbreak Bay is the fifth and final book in the Stillhouse Lake series by Rachel Caine. Gwen Proctor and friends are back to solve more gruesome crimes. In this book, Gwen and Kezia work together to catch a serial killer.

While Heartbreak Bay is an exciting book, it does start more slowly than the previous books in this series. This story is told using multiple points of view – Gwen, Kezia, and Sam. Gwen is still the primary character, but it was nice to get more of Kezia in this book. The characters continue to be easy to root for and likable. The story is once again grim and twisted. While this isn’t my favorite book in the series, it was an excellent read. For readers who enjoy dark and suspenseful thrillers, I highly recommend this series. Definitely read them in order though.

The Stillhouse Lake series has been captivating and suspenseful. The author, Rachel Caine, passed away in November of 2020, so this is her last book. This has been one of my favorite series in recent years, and this final book was an emotional read. I had the pleasure meeting Rachel (Roxanne Longstreet Conrad) at a library event a few years ago. It was a delight to meet her and hear her talk about this series and other books she had written.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Stillhouse Lake series:

  1. Stillhouse Lake
  2. Killman Creek
  3. Wolfhunter River
  4. Bitter Falls
  5. Heartbreak Bay
Book Review

Bitter Falls by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Bitter Falls

Author: Rachel Caine

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publish Date: January 21, 2020

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: Stillhouse Lake #4

My Rating: 4/5

Bitter Falls by Rachel Caine

BOOK BLURB

She’s investigating a cold case no one else could—by going places no else would dare.

In spite of a harrowing past still haunting her, Gwen Proctor is trying to move forward. Until a new assignment gives her purpose: the cold-case disappearance of a young man in Tennessee. Three years missing, no clues. Just Ruth Landry, a tortured mother in limbo. Gwen understands what it’s like to worry about your children.

Gwen’s investigation unearths new suspects…and victims. As she follows each sinister lead, the implications of the mystery grow more disturbing. Because the closer Gwen gets, the closer she is to a threat that looms back home.

In a town that’s closed its ranks against Gwen; her partner, Sam; and her kids, there’s no bolder enemy than the Belldene family—paramilitary, criminal, powerful, and vengeful. As personal vendettas collide with Gwen’s investigation, she’s prepared to fight both battles. But is she prepared for the toll it could take on everyone she loves?


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Bitter Falls is the fourth book in the Stillhouse Lake series by Rachel Caine. Gwen Proctor and her family are back, and they are finding it harder and harder to fit into their local community. Gwen’s trying to keep her family safe and also keep herself busy. She takes on the cold case of a missing young man. Gwen’s investigation leads to her discovering other victims, and wanting to discover who is behind the disappearances.

This is an action-packed and exciting series. Gwen and her kids are not well-liked, and it is extremely difficult on the kids. Things are becoming more serious in their community, and the entire family is uncertain of their futures. I like the different viewpoints, and that each family member’s take on what is happening is represented. The characters in this book are likable and easy to root for. Gwen is still a badass, and she’s raising her kids to be strong, smart, and independent.

A fast-paced thriller that kept me wanting to read more. Interesting mystery with plenty of bad guys, in both Gwen’s personal and professional lives. Intriguing, dark, and intense.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Stillhouse Lake series:

  1. Stillhouse Lake
  2. Killman Creek
  3. Wolfhunter River
  4. Bitter Falls
  5. Heartbreak Bay
Book Review

Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Wolfhunter River

Author: Rachel Caine

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publish Date: April 23, 2019

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: Stillhouse Lake #3

My Rating: 4/5

Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine

BOOK BLURB

She can’t ignore a cry for help. But in this remote hunting town, it’s open season.

Gwen Proctor escaped her serial-killer husband and saved her family. What she can’t seem to outrun is his notoriety. Or the sick internet vigilantes still seeking to avenge his crimes. For Gwen, hiding isn’t an option. Not when her only mission is to create a normal life for her kids.

But now, a threatened woman has reached out. Marlene Crockett, from the remote town of Wolfhunter, is panicked for herself and her daughter. When Gwen arrives in the small, isolated rural community, Marlene is already dead—her own daughter blamed for the murder. Except that’s not the person Marlene feared at all. And Gwen isn’t leaving until she finds out who that was.

But it may already be too late. A trap has been set. And it’s poised to snap shut on everyone Gwen loves. Her stalkers are closing in. And in a town as dark as Wolfhunter, it’s so easy for them to hide…


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

First off, this book isn’t really needed for the series. I think most things were wrapped up in book 2, Killman Creek. That said, I enjoy Rachel Caine’s writing style, and thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Gwen and the others in this series.

Wolfhunter River is the third book in the Stillhouse Lake series. This book has a couple of main stories. One, Gwen is trying to live a normal life with her kids. Unfortunately, there are some people who would like to see her suffer for her husband’s crimes. Two, a woman in Wolfhunter contacts Gwen with a story that intrigues her. Gwen travels to Wolfhunter, and soon suspects something is seriously wrong in the small town. Of course, these storylines intersect to make a fast-paced and exciting read.

Readers who enjoyed Stillhouse Lake and Killman Creek are sure to be thrilled with Wolfhunter River. A suspenseful read that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Stillhouse Lake series:

  1. Stillhouse Lake
  2. Killman Creek
  3. Wolfhunter River
  4. Bitter Falls
  5. Heartbreak Bay
Book Review

Killman Creek by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Killman Creek

Author: Rachel Caine

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publish Date: December 12, 2017

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: Stillhouse Lake #2

My Rating: 4/5

Killman Creek by Rachel Caine

BOOK BLURB

Every time Gwen closed her eyes, she saw him in her nightmares. Now her eyes are open, and he’s not going away.

Gwen Proctor won the battle to save her kids from her ex-husband, serial killer Melvin Royal, and his league of psychotic accomplices. But the war isn’t over. Not since Melvin broke out of prison. Not since she received a chilling text…

You’re not safe anywhere now.

Her refuge at Stillhouse Lake has become a trap. Gwen leaves her children in the protective custody of a fortified, well-armed neighbor. Now, with the help of Sam Cade, brother of one of Melvin’s victims, Gwen is going hunting. She’s learned how from one of the sickest killers alive.

But what she’s up against is beyond anything she feared—a sophisticated and savage mind game calculated to destroy her. As trust beyond her small circle of friends begins to vanish, Gwen has only fury and vengeance to believe in as she closes in on her prey. And sure as the night, one of them will die.


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Killman Creek is the second book in Rachel Caine’s Stillhouse Lake series.

Gwen and her kids are in hiding from Gwen’s serial killer ex-husband, Melvin. Melvin has escaped from prison and his family is no longer safe. Gwen takes the offensive and goes after Melvin. Sam, the brother of one of Melvin’s victims, goes with Gwen on her hunt for Melvin. Meanwhile, the kids stay with a friend, who has a well fortified home.

This story was told from multiple points of view. Gwen’s point of view was the primary story, but it was nice to see the kids’ (Lanny and Connor) and Sam’s viewpoints. The trust between family and friends was tested, so multiple viewpoints worked for this story.

Gwen was a strong character. She was tired of living in fear and wanted to protect her family. Unfortunately, she had some people working against her, which complicated matters. The kids each had their own issues, though they were minor to the story.

For me, this book started off slow and I had a hard time getting into it. It does get better, and the ending was full of suspense and excitement.

I have not yet read the first book in this series (Stillhouse Lake). It’s on my Kindle, but I read them out of order. Anyway, I still enjoyed this one without having read the first one.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Stillhouse Lake series:

  1. Stillhouse Lake
  2. Killman Creek
  3. Wolfhunter River
  4. Bitter Falls
  5. Heartbreak Bay