Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Wolfhunter River

Author: Rachel Caine

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publish Date: April 23, 2019

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: Stillhouse Lake #3

My Rating: 4/5

Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine

BOOK BLURB

She can’t ignore a cry for help. But in this remote hunting town, it’s open season.

Gwen Proctor escaped her serial-killer husband and saved her family. What she can’t seem to outrun is his notoriety. Or the sick internet vigilantes still seeking to avenge his crimes. For Gwen, hiding isn’t an option. Not when her only mission is to create a normal life for her kids.

But now, a threatened woman has reached out. Marlene Crockett, from the remote town of Wolfhunter, is panicked for herself and her daughter. When Gwen arrives in the small, isolated rural community, Marlene is already dead—her own daughter blamed for the murder. Except that’s not the person Marlene feared at all. And Gwen isn’t leaving until she finds out who that was.

But it may already be too late. A trap has been set. And it’s poised to snap shut on everyone Gwen loves. Her stalkers are closing in. And in a town as dark as Wolfhunter, it’s so easy for them to hide…


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

First off, this book isn’t really needed for the series. I think most things were wrapped up in book 2, Killman Creek. That said, I enjoy Rachel Caine’s writing style, and thoroughly enjoyed revisiting Gwen and the others in this series.

Wolfhunter River is the third book in the Stillhouse Lake series. This book has a couple of main stories. One, Gwen is trying to live a normal life with her kids. Unfortunately, there are some people who would like to see her suffer for her husband’s crimes. Two, a woman in Wolfhunter contacts Gwen with a story that intrigues her. Gwen travels to Wolfhunter, and soon suspects something is seriously wrong in the small town. Of course, these storylines intersect to make a fast-paced and exciting read.

Readers who enjoyed Stillhouse Lake and Killman Creek are sure to be thrilled with Wolfhunter River. A suspenseful read that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Stillhouse Lake series:

  1. Stillhouse Lake
  2. Killman Creek
  3. Wolfhunter River
  4. Bitter Falls
  5. Heartbreak Bay

4 thoughts on “Wolfhunter River by Rachel Caine [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.