The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


Title: The Blossom Twins

Author: Carol Wyer

Publisher: Bookouture

Publish Date: December 12, 2019

Genre: Crime & Detective

Series: Detective Natalie Ward #5

My Rating: 4/5

The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer


Their parents thought they were hiding…

One beautiful summer’s evening, thirteen-year-old twins Ivy and Erin Westmore snuggle down in a tent in their back garden, giggling and sharing secrets.

When their mother goes to wake the girls the next morning, their tent is empty.

The alarm is raised and Detective Natalie Ward is put onto the case. When the twins’ bodies are discovered on nearby marshland, covered with deep pink petals, an icy shiver travels down Natalie’s spine. Everything about the girls’ deaths reminds her of a horrifying case she worked on earlier in her career, which saw a killer of the worst kind placed behind bars.

The next day, that feeling is heightened when she receives a chilling note saying ‘I’m back’. Is this killer a copycat or did Natalie put the wrong person in prison all those years ago? In a small town, where no stranger goes unnoticed, what is Natalie missing?

Consumed by the case, determined to prevent more deaths, Natalie misses the fact that it is her attention the killer wants. And to get it, he has his sights set firmly on her precious daughter Leigh…

The Blossom Twins by Carol Wyer


The Blossom Twins is the fifth book in the Detective Natalie Ward series by Carol Wyer. In this book, Natalie investigates the case of murdered sisters that resembles an older case that was supposedly solved. Natalie questions if they caught the right guy the first time around. As Natalie investigates, the killer continues to target other girls.

Natalie is a smart and strong female protagonist. She’s got a lot of strengths, but she also has flaws. The combination of her work life and personal life makes for a compelling read. I’m always intrigued with the mysteries in this series, and this book has one of the most difficult cases Natalie has worked.

This book is part of a series, but it can be read as a standalone. Each book has a different case that Detective Ward investigates, but the personal storyline advances and adds another layer to the stories. This is a fantastic series, so I recommend starting with the first book, The Birthday.

A dark and complex crime thriller. Good for fans of police procedurals. Gritty, intense, and fast-paced.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Detective Natalie Ward series:
  1. The Birthday
  2. Last Lullaby
  3. The Dare
  4. The Sleepover
  5. The Blossom Twins
  6. The Secret Admirer
  7. Somebody’s Daughter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.