Book Review: The Sleepover by Carol Wyer

The Sleepover by Carol Wyer

BOOK INFO
Title: The Sleepover
Author: Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Publish Date: September 5, 2019
Genre: Mystery – Crime
Series: Detective Natalie Ward #4
Goodreads Ratings: Me 4.0 / Community 4.73

BOOK BLURB
via Amazon:
She said she’d gone to a sleepover. But she never made it. Someone must know why…

When Detective Natalie Ward is called to the home of fourteen-year-old Roxy Curtis she can’t help but empathise with Roxy’s distraught mother Cathy. Roxy hasn’t come home, last seen heading next door for a sleepover with her best friend Ellie. As the mother of two teenagers herself, Natalie knows that this is every parent’s worst nightmare.

But when Roxy’s body is found in the basement of a beautiful Victorian mansion on the other side of town, Natalie’s darkest fears are confirmed. What was Roxy doing there? The people who knew her best should know – but Cathy seems evasive, and Ellie refuses to talk. Natalie is determined to find out what secrets they are keeping…

Then Roxy’s mother Cathy disappears.

When her body is found two days later, Natalie is forced to face the fact that Roxy’s loved ones are in real danger. Things take a more sinister turn when Ellie vanishes, her mobile phone switched off. Is Ellie hiding something about the night Roxy died that could put her in terrible danger? And can Natalie work it out before another innocent life is taken?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.


Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads

MY REVIEW
The fourth book in the Detective Natalie Ward series by Carol Wyer. In The Sleepover, Natalie and her team investigate the mysterious death of Roxy, a fourteen-year-old girl. Roxy’s remains were found in the burned home of two brothers, who seem to have no connection to Roxy. The team questions everyone in Roxy’s life, and it seems everyone is keeping secrets.

The mystery is intriguing and not easy to figure out. I love a crime novel that keeps me guessing as to who is behind the crime, and this one delivers on that. The characters are complex and captivating. I enjoy how this series blends the personal and professional lives of Natalie and her team. It makes the characters more real.

This book could be read as a standalone, but I recommend starting with book 1, The Birthday. The crime that the team investigates is different for each book, but the personal dramas in the team members lives continues.

A fantastic crime series. I highly recommend this series to fans of police procedurals. Gritty, complex, and compelling.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sleepover by Carol Wyer

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.