Book Review: Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott

Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Cross Your Heart
Author: Kierney Scott
Publisher: Bookouture
Publish Date: April 25, 2018
Genre: Mystery – Crime
Series: Detective Jess Bishop #2
My Rating: 4/5


BOOK BLURB

Blinking her eyes open, she looks around the room, taking in the bed and the wardrobe full of clothes she’s never seen before. This isn’t her bedroom. Those aren’t her clothes. She begins to cry as she wonders if she’ll ever see her own home again.

Three young girls are missing. All of them cold cases. All of them forgotten. But when Detective Jess Bishop identifies a disturbing link between them, she’s determined to find out what happened, and fights to re-open their cases.

At the scene of each abduction the kidnapper left a clue – a small bag of candy – in place of the missing child.

And then a fourth child is taken. Eight-year-old Ava is snatched from her hospital bed and when a bag of candy is found in her room, Jessica knows it’s the same kidnapper.

As the pressure to solve the case pushes Jess and her team to breaking point, Jess takes a personal risk she fears she’ll live to regret. But she has no choice.

Out of hospital, Ava can only get sicker: Jess is running out of time. Can she find Ava before it’s too late?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will have your pulse racing. Cross Your Heart is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

Cross Your Heart by Kierney Scott
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Detective Jess Bishop is back! Jess was injured at the end of book #1 in the series, Forget Me Not, and has been on leave while recovering. Since Jess is always on the job, she continued to look into cases, and discovered a link in some cold cases involving children. Once reinstated in her position at the FBI, she brings the case to her team, but is not allowed to reopen the cases. That all changes when another child is reported missing. Jess and her team work to connect the cases of the missing children and find their killer.

This is the second book in the Detective Jess Bishop series by Kierney Scott. Jess is a FBI agent. She’s smart, determined, and damaged. I’ve read the first book in the series, and enjoyed this second book even more. This book can be read as a standalone, but the first book does introduce more of the characters backgrounds and personalities, plus there is the whole thing about how she got injured.

Smart, gritty, and fast-paced. Great for fans of crime thrillers, especially ones with strong female characters.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.