Book Review: Forget Me Not by Kierney Scott

Forget Me Not by Kierney Scott

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Forget Me Not
Author: Kierney Scott
Publisher: Bookouture
Publish Date: November 27, 2017
Genre: Mystery – Crime
Series: Detective Jess Bishop #1
My Rating: 3/5


BOOK BLURB

Murky water sloshed through the gaps in the jetty’s algae-covered planks. Electricity ran down her spine. The victim’s torso was missing circles of flesh. Jess had seen marks like this before a long time ago. But that killer was already dead, wasn’t he?

When the lifeless body of a young woman is found washed up in the blisteringly hot back waters of a small town, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Two other bodies have been found, both bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered, and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait

Forget Me Not is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

Forget Me Not by Kierney Scott
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

FBI Detective Jess Bishop is working the case of a serial killer. The killer’s style is the same as an old case that Jess has spent years trying to forget. While she searches for the killer, she tries to cope with unpleasant memories from her past and deal with current personal drama. Her old partner, Jamison, has returned to the FBI and they are reassigned as partners. This brings complications into Jess’s professional and personal life.

An interesting crime mystery novel. The mystery part of this book was a very entertaining read, so a great book for fans of FBI mystery stories. I was not a fan of the personal drama in Jess’s life, mainly the drama between her and Jamison.

Jess was smart, but damaged. She definitely had some personality quirks, which made her somewhat unlikeable. Mainly, she was struggling with personal issues, some of which were not that interesting. However, she was a smart and solid agent when it came to solving cases.

A nitpicky complaint – the main character is Jessica, who goes by Jess, except for one person calls her Jessie. I didn’t like the going back and forth between Jessica and Jess. Pick one and stick with it. This probably bothered me more than it should have.

A smart and gritty crime mystery. I’ll likely read more of this series.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.