Book Review: Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald

Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Behind Every Lie
Author: Christina McDonald
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publish Date: February 4, 2020
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: na
My Rating: 3/5


BOOK BLURB

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell’s I Found You and Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of Her, Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Eva is determined to clear her name when she is suspected of killing her mother. On the night of her mother’s murder, Eva was struck by lightning, and she doesn’t remember anything from that night. As Eva tries to discover what happened that night, she learns her mother had secrets.

Told with alternating points of view – Eva and Kat, Eva’s mother. Eva’s story is told in the present day, while Kat’s story tells about the past. Eva is an unreliable narrator, since she’s been struck by lightning and can’t remember what happened the night of her mother’s death. Eva does have vague memories of being with her mother, but it’s unclear what happened that night.

Every person in this book is keeping secrets and telling lies, so Behind Every Lie is an apt title for this book. There is a complicated backstory and a lot of twists and turns. An entertaining read for fans of psychological thrillers. Suspenseful, dramatic, and intense.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.