Book Review: The Swap by Robyn Harding

The Swap by Robyn Harding

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Swap
Author: Robyn Harding
Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press
Publish Date: June 23, 2020
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: na
My Rating: 4/5


BOOK BLURB

Low Morrison is not your average teen. You could blame her hippie parents or her looming height or her dreary, isolated hometown on an island in the Pacific Northwest. But whatever the reason, Low just doesn’t fit in—and neither does Freya, an ethereal beauty and once-famous social media influencer who now owns the local pottery studio.

After signing up for a class, Low quickly falls under Freya’s spell. And Freya, buoyed by Low’s adoration, is compelled to share her darkest secrets and deepest desires. Finally, both feel a sense of belonging…that is, until Jamie walks through the studio door. Desperate for a baby, she and her husband have moved to the island hoping that the healthy environment will result in a pregnancy. Freya and Jamie become fast friends, as do their husbands, leaving Low alone once again.

Then one night, after a boozy dinner party, Freya suggests swapping partners. It should have been a harmless fling between consenting adults, one night of debauchery that they would put behind them, but instead, it upends their lives. And provides Low the perfect opportunity to unleash her growing resentment.

Robyn Harding brings her acclaimed storytelling, lauded as “fast-paced, thrilling, gut-wrenching” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six, to this dark and suspenseful thriller for fans of Megan Miranda and Lisa Jewell.

The Swap by Robyn Harding
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Low, a teen girl, befriends Freya, a woman new to their small island in the Pacific Northwest. Low falls under Freya’s charm, but their friendship ends when Freya meets Jamie. Freya and Jamie quickly become friends, leaving Low on her own. After one drug-induced night of bad decisions, everyone’s life changes.

Told from multiple points of view – Low, Jamie, Brian, and Max. Low is a bit of a loner. She doesn’t quite fit in with others on the island, and struggles to find her place. Jamie owns a local gift shop. Brian is Jamie’s husband. Jamie and Brian want children, but have struggled with conceiving. Max is Freya’s husband. His career ended suddenly, and he and Freya relocated to the island. Freya owns a pottery studio and was once a social media influencer. The chapters from Low and Jamie’s viewpoints are good. They are both charmed by Freya, who is confident, but narcissistic. The chapters from Brian and Max’s viewpoints don’t add much to the story.

Intriguing domestic thriller full of flawed characters. It’s tough to like any of these characters, but they do make for an entertaining story. Scandalous and twisted.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Swap by Robyn Harding

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.