Book Review: A Good Man by Ani Katz

A Good Man by Ani Katz


BOOK INFO

Title: A Good Man
Author: Ani Katz
Publisher: Penguin
Publish Date: January 14, 2020
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: na
Goodreads Ratings: Me 3.00 / Community 3.60


BOOK BLURB

A dark and gripping novel of psychological suspense about a family man driven to unspeakable acts, in the vein of The Perfect Nanny and We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Thomas Martin was a devoted family man who had all the trappings of an enviable life: a beautiful wife and daughter, a well-appointed home on Long Island’s north shore, a job at a prestigious Manhattan advertising firm. He was also a devoted son and brother, shielding the women in his orbit from the everyday brutalities of the world.

But what happens when Thomasโ€™s fragile ego is rocked? After committing a horrific deed โ€” that he can never undo โ€” Thomas grapples with his sense of self. Sometimes he casts himself as a victim and, at other times, a monster. All he ever did was try to be a good man, but maybe if he tells his version of the story, he might uncover how and why things unraveled so horribly.



Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads


MY REVIEW

Thomas is a man with a good life. This is his story about how things went wrong.

Told from Thomas’s point of view. He recalls the early days with his wife, his family life, and his work life. While everything seems ordinary, and even a bit dull in Thomas’s life, there is an underlying darkness. As Thomas tells his story, it’s clear that he’s not the good man he claims to be.

This book reminds me of Looker by Laura Sims, but from a male POV. A slow-paced psychological drama. While this novel has several things I love (unreliable narrator, picture perfect life, dark and twisted tale), I was never drawn into the story.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.


Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.