Book Review: The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

BOOK INFO
Title: The Unhoneymooners
Author: Christina Lauren
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publish Date: May 14, 2019
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Goodreads Ratings: Me 4.0 / Community 4.17

BOOK BLURB
from Amazon:
For two sworn enemies, anything can happen during the Hawaiian trip of a lifetime—maybe even love—in this romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling authors of Roomies.

Olive Torres is used to being the unlucky twin: from inexplicable mishaps to a recent layoff, her life seems to be almost comically jinxed. By contrast, her sister Ami is an eternal champion… she even managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a slew of contests. Unfortunately for Olive, the only thing worse than constant bad luck is having to spend the wedding day with the best man (and her nemesis), Ethan Thomas.

Olive braces herself for wedding hell, determined to put on a brave face, but when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. Suddenly there’s a free honeymoon up for grabs, and Olive will be damned if Ethan gets to enjoy paradise solo.

Agreeing to a temporary truce, the pair head for Maui. After all, ten days of bliss is worth having to assume the role of loving newlyweds, right? But the weird thing is… Olive doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, the more she pretends to be the luckiest woman alive, the more it feels like she might be.

With Christina Lauren’s “uniquely hilarious and touching voice” (Entertainment Weekly), The Unhoneymooners is a romance for anyone who has ever felt unlucky in love.



Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads

MY REVIEW
Olive’s sister is marrying Ethan’s brother. After the hilariously horrifying wedding reception, Olive and Ethan’s siblings are not able to make their nonrefundable honeymoon. They offer the trip to their siblings. Olive and Ethan are not friends. Olive and Ethan both want the trip, and aren’t going to let a little thing like traveling with the enemy get in their way. As they spend time together, Olive and Ethan realize they are definitely not enemies.

Told from Olive’s point of view. At first, it seems like she and Ethan have nothing in common. The romance develops as they realize they don’t know one another at all, and their ideas of each other change.

As usual, the writing duo of Christina Lauren has written a humorous, fun, and sexy contemporary romance. A lot of humor, a little drama, and some downright silly situations make for an entertaining read. For me, this wasn’t the best Christina Lauren novel, but I still highly recommended it for fans of Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating and My Favorite Half-Night Stand.

I received a free eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.