The Necklace by Matt Witten [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Necklace

Author: Matt Witten

Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

Publish Date: September 7, 2021

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

The Necklace by Matt Witten

BOOK BLURB

The clock ticks down in a heart-pounding crusade for justice

Susan Lentigo’s daughter was murdered twenty years ago—and now, at long last, this small-town waitress sets out on a road trip all the way from Upstate New York to North Dakota to witness the killer’s execution.

On her journey she discovers shocking new evidence that leads her to suspect the condemned man is innocent—and the real killer is still free. Even worse, her prime suspect has a young daughter who’s at terrible risk. With no money and no time to spare, Susan sets out to uncover the truth before an innocent man gets executed and another little girl is killed.

But the FBI refuses to reopen the case. They—and Susan’s own mother—believe she’s just having an emotional breakdown. Reaching deep, Susan finds an inner strength she never knew she had. With the help of two unlikely allies—a cynical, defiant teenage girl and the retired cop who made the original arrest—Susan battles the FBI to put the real killer behind bars. Will she win justice for the condemned man—and her daughter—at last?


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Susan’s daughter was murdered years ago, and now it’s time for the killer’s execution. While traveling to the execution, she starts to consider the condemned man was not the killer. Others seem to believe Susan is having an emotional breakdown, so she looks for evidence to prove she’s right.

The Necklace is a mystery thriller. A mother is grieving her daughter, who was murder as a child twenty years earlier. This makes for an emotional read with disturbing subject matter. Susan misses her daughter, and wants the guilty man to suffer for killing her child. However, she starts to realize someone else may have killed her daughter. She’s emotional though, so it’s hard to get anyone to believe her.

A dark and intense mystery. Mystery readers who enjoy Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner are likely to enjoy The Necklace.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books by Matt Witten:
  1. The Necklace

One thought on “The Necklace by Matt Witten [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.