Good Neighbors by Sarah Langan [Book Review]

Good Neighbors by Sarah Langan

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Good Neighbors

Author: Sarah Langan

Publisher: Atria Books

Publish Date: February 2, 2021

Genre: Domestic Suspense

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

Good Neighbors by Sarah Langan

BOOK BLURB

Celeste Ng’s enthralling dissection of suburbia meets Shirley Jackson’s creeping dread in this propulsive literary noir, when a sudden tragedy exposes the depths of deception and damage in a Long Island suburb—pitting neighbor against neighbor and putting one family in terrible danger.

Welcome to Maple Street, a picture-perfect slice of suburban Long Island, its residents bound by their children, their work, and their illusion of safety in a rapidly changing world.

But menace skulks beneath the surface of this exclusive enclave, making its residents prone to outrage. When the Wilde family moves in, they trigger their neighbors’ worst fears. Dad Arlo’s a gruff has-been rock star with track marks. Mom Gertie’s got a thick Brooklyn accent, with high heels and tube tops to match. Their weird kids cuss like sailors. They don’t fit with the way Maple Street sees itself.

Though Maple Street’s Queen Bee, Rhea Schroeder—a lonely college professor repressing a dark past—welcomed Gertie and her family at first, relations went south during one spritzer-fueled summer evening, when the new best friends shared too much, too soon. By the time the story opens, the Wildes are outcasts.

As tensions mount, a sinkhole opens in a nearby park, and Rhea’s daughter Shelly falls inside. The search for Shelly brings a shocking accusation against the Wildes. Suddenly, it is one mom’s word against the other’s in a court of public opinion that can end only in blood.

A riveting and ruthless portrayal of American suburbia, Good Neighbors excavates the perils and betrayals of motherhood and friendships and the dangerous clash between social hierarchy, childhood trauma, and fear.


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

A picture perfect neighborhood with successful and happy families. Of course, not everything is as it appears. Dark secrets, lies, and fears are in every household. Complex characters and an intriguing story combine for an enthralling read.

Good Neighbors is a new domestic suspense novel by Sarah Langan. I’ve read horror novels by Langan before, so I was expecting a creepy read… and I wasn’t disappointed. Good Neighbors definitely has a creep factor that makes it a little uncomfortable to read. However, the horror and discomfort is in a psychological way, not in a monster way. Admittedly, I’m a sucker for books set in neighborhoods/households where everything seems perfect, but is more complicated than it appears.

A slow burning novel. Recommended for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Big Little Lies. Disturbing, contemporary, and compelling.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books by Sarah Langan:
  1. The Keeper
  2. The Missing
  3. Audrey’s Door
  4. Good Neighbors

4 thoughts on “Good Neighbors by Sarah Langan [Book Review]

  1. Hope you didn’t have nightmares – should you rethink that nice, new neighborhood (LOL)

  2. I have not read anything by Sarah Langan, but not sure if she is the author for me. I live in a nice neighbourhood and sleep well at night, not sure if I want to sleep with one eye open. Great review Darinda.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.