Deep Tide by Laura Griffin [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


Title: Deep Tide

Author: Laura Griffin

Publisher: Berkley

Publish Date: April 25, 2023

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Series: The Texas Murder Files #4

My Rating: 4/5

Deep Tide by Laura Griffin


An undercover FBI agent and a coffee shop owner who values her independence must team up when a local barista is found dead in their coastal Texas town in this new romantic thriller from New York Times bestselling author Laura Griffin.

With two brothers on the police force, Leyla Breda is well aware of the rising crime in her small beach town, but she never expected it to show up on her doorstep. When Leyla finds one of her employees murdered in the alley behind her coffee shop, she’s deeply shaken, and as a new law enforcement officer in town begins to circle her place of business, her instincts only sharpen.

Sean Moran is on an undercover mission: The seaside community of Lost Beach may look like a picturesque postcard, but his team suspects it’s a point of intersection for several crime syndicates that the FBI has been investigating for years. Even so, when the brash and beautiful Leyla Breda starts bossing him around, he’s immediately intrigued. He knows her brothers want him to back off, but every time he sees her, he feels more of a spark.

Leyla’s connections in the local community and Sean’s skills allow them to go deeper into the case together than they would be able to go alone. But when a single crime spirals into something much darker, Sean’s carefully planned mission takes a deadly turn.

Deep Tide by Laura Griffin


Leyla finds one of her employees murdered body in the alley behind her coffee shop. Sean is an undercover FBI agent in town on an assignment. Leyla and Sean want to solve these cases, but they are also immediately attracted to one another.

Deep Tide is the fourth book in The Texas Murder Files series. While this book is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.

There are two investigations happening in Deep Tide. The murder of Leyla’s employee and Sean’s case. Sean quickly believes the cases are related, and starts working with the detective on the murder case. This book is told using three points of view – Leyla, Sean, and Nicole. Nicole is the local detective. The setting is a small beach town in Texas.

A combination of mystery and romance. Deep Tide is a fun and suspenseful addition to this series.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the The Texas Murder Files series:
  1. Hidden
  2. Flight
  3. Midnight Dunes
  4. Deep Tide
  5. Liar’s Point

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.