Book Review: The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson

The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson


BOOK INFO

Title: The Other Mrs. Miller
Author: Allison Dickson
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Publish Date: July 16, 2019
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: n/a
Goodreads Ratings: Me 3.0 / Community 3.70


BOOK BLURB

Two women are watching each other.

Phoebe Miller isn’t sure when the rusty car started showing up in the cul-de-sac she calls home, or why its driver would be spying on her. What could be interesting about an unhappy housewife who drowns her sorrows in ice cream and wine and barely leaves her house?

Only one knows why.

When a new family moves in across the street–the exuberant Vicki, who just might become the gossipy best friend Phoebe’s always wanted, and her handsome college-bound son, Jake, who offers companionship of a different variety–Phoebe finds her dull routine infused with the excitement she’s been missing. But with her head turned she’s no longer focused on the woman in the car. And she really should be…

An addictive domestic thriller for fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Couple Next Door, The Other Mrs. Miller serves up a delicious brew of dark secrets and stunning plot twists that will keep you captivated until the very last page.


Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads


MY REVIEW

Phoebe Miller spends her days at home alone. She’s noticed the same car parked on her street several times a week. Phoebe wonders if it is someone taking a break from their day or if someone is spying on her. When new neighbors move in across the street, Phoebe forgets about the woman in the car.

Told in two parts, Part 1 – Mrs. Miller and Part 2 – The Other Mrs. Miller. The first part is about Phoebe and her life. She is wealthy, lonely, and unhappily married. When new neighbors move in, she starts up a friendship with the mother and an affair with the son. The second part takes a turn, and is about the other Mrs. Miller.

I thoroughly enjoyed Part 1, but Part 2 was a let down. While the first part is realistic and somewhat dark, the second part is unbelievable and almost comical. It’s like reading two completely different stories.

Overall, The Other Mrs. Miller is an entertaining read. Good for fans of domestic thrillers that don’t mind suspending disbelief. Darkly humorous, twisty, and fun.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.


Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Other Mrs. Miller by Allison Dickson

  1. Oh, I had high expectations about this one. I’m sorry to hear you have to suspend some belief, that’s a bit of deal breaker for me too, so not sure about picking this one up now. Thanks for your honest review Darinda!

    1. The first half is great. The second half brings in too many things that had me shaking my head. It’s still entertaining, just a bit far-fetched.

    1. The first part is realistic and slowly builds. The second part is faster paced and a bit unbelievable. It was a little too disjointed for me. It’s an entertaining read though. Hope you enjoy it! 💜

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.