Book Review: The Love Story of Missy Carmichael by Beth Morrey

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael by Beth Morrey

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
Author: Beth Morrey
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Publish Date: April 7, 2020
Genre: Contemporary
Series: na
My Rating: 4/5


BOOK BLURB

For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving “coming-of-old” story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself–at any age.

The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife’s native Australia, taking Missy’s beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for…what exactly?

The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won’t take no for an answer–including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time.

Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it’s never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it’s never too late to love.

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael by Beth Morrey
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Missy Carmichael is an English woman in her late 70s. She lives in the home she once shared with her husband and children. Now, her husband is gone, her son lives in Australia, and she is estranged from her daughter. Missy is set in her ways, asocial, and somewhat depressed.

Told using flashbacks, Missy’s life story is revealed. The pieces of her past help explain her current life and behavior. Missy is hard to like, but the more of her that is revealed, the more I cared about her.

Missy is lonely, but she slowly opens herself to new friendships. This story may be about an older character, but it is still a story about growth. As Missy becomes more comfortable with herself, she finds her way in the world again.

An delightful contemporary. Bittersweet and emotional.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Love Story of Missy Carmichael by Beth Morrey

  1. I wasn’t sure about this one either. I read the blurb and thought it was something I would like, but then it might hit too close to home. Glad you enjoyed it Darinda, you have changed my mind . Great review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.