Book Review: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: The Jane Austen Project
Author: Kathleen A. Flynn
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publish Date: May 2, 2017
Genre: Historical Fiction
Series: na
My Rating: 3/5


BOOK BLURB

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Two time travelers, Rachel and Liam, travel to 1815 London to steal an unpublished manuscript written by Jane Austen. Their mission is planned to last one year and involves them befriending the Austen family.

Not long after arriving in 1815, they make contact with Henry Austen, who they hope will like them enough that they will be able to gain access to the rest of the Austen family. Liam is posing as a doctor and Rachel as his sister. In reality, Rachel is the doctor. Rachel’s role is to flirt with Henry and get him to fall for her. She’s also supposed to use her medical expertise to help with Henry’s upcoming illness and help diagnose what Jane’s health problems were. Liam’s role is to gain access since he’s supposed to be a doctor, plus he is the more charming and charismatic of the two.

Their mission is complicated by two main things: the difficulty involved with not altering anything in the past and Rachel and Liam’s growing attraction to one another.

Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors, and I enjoy reading novels that have a different take on her life or her novels. The Jane Austen Project was creative, and I liked the combination of time travel and historical fiction. While I enjoyed the idea of the book, there were a few things that I didn’t like. For one, I liked Liam and his role, but I never cared for Rachel, or understood why she would have been chosen for the mission. Also, I wasn’t a fan of the ending. It seemed too abrupt, and while I liked some parts of the ending, I didn’t like other parts.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.