Book Review: Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes
Author: Kathleen West
Publisher: Berkley
Publish Date: February 4, 2020
Genre: Contemporary
Series: na
My Rating: 4/5


BOOK BLURB

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds with each other find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin.

Isobel Johnson has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of Anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, obsessed with the casting of the school’s winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family.

Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances. The Liston Heights High student body will need more than a strong sense of school spirit to move past these campus dramas in an engrossing debut novel that addresses parents behaving badly and teenagers speaking up, even against their own families.


Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes by Kathleen West
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Contemporary drama revolving around a high school. Julia Abbott is a helicopter mom who does something dumb at the high school, and, of course, it’s caught on video. She goes viral, causing problems for her and her kids. Meanwhile, the teachers are worried about their jobs since enrollment is down. Isobel Johnson is a teacher that tends to push issues in an attempt to broaden her students perspectives. This makes her a target for some of the parents, who wish she would simply stick with the curriculum.

Told using multiple points of view, the drama of family and school life plays out. Along with Julia and Isobel, other POVs are used, including another teacher and Julia’s kids. The use of multiple viewpoints works for this novel, and allows for a variety of topics to be covered.

A fun read for fans of family dramas and school politics. A wonderful debut novel. Entertaining, compelling, and relevant.

I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.