Book Review: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

BOOK INFO
Title: Little Darlings
Author: Melanie Golding
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date: April 30, 2019
Genre: Mystery – Thriller
Series: n/a
Goodreads Ratings: Me 4.0 / Community 3.86

BOOK BLURB
from Amazon:
“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy’s The Perfect Mother.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own… creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley — to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw… she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking — and rechecking — your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding
Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads

MY REVIEW
Lauren has newborn twins. In the hospital room one night, Lauren sees a woman try to take her babies and replace them with her own. The police find no one around, and everyone thinks Lauren is imagining things. A month later, the babies disappear. When they are found, they look like Lauren’s twins, but Lauren believes they are not her babies. To get her babies back, Lauren will do the unthinkable.

Lauren is a fantastic unreliable narrator. She is a new mother of twins, so it’s not surprising that everyone around her (husband, doctor, etc.) considers her behavior to be due to exhaustion and postpartum depression. The questioning of what was real, or if there was a supernatural element in play, made for a compelling read. The fairy tale element added to the eerie atmosphere.

A thriller inspired by dark fairy tales. Good for fans of psychological thrillers and Grimms’ fairy tales. Dark, creepy, and clever.

I borrowed this book from my local library.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

  1. Great review Darinda. Not sure if this is my cup of tea or not, but I trust you, Shalini and Jonetta, so I may have to check the library.

    1. Thanks, Carla! I wasn’t sure about this one either, but I ended up enjoying it. Hope your library has it so you can give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.