Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Her One Mistake

Author: Heidi Perks

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publish Date: January 8, 2019

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks

BOOK BLURB

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. But while her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing—and admit that she’s solely to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now, more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women, trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that trusting Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced novel—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Harriet leaves her 4-year-old daughter Alice in the care of Charlotte, another mom and friend of Harriet. While at the school fair, Charlotte loses sight of Alice. When Harriet returns home, she discovers her daughter is missing.

Told with alternating points of view (Harriet and Charlotte) and alternating timelines (before and after). Harriet is reserved, anxious, and a bit overprotective. She has never left her daughter in anyone else’s care, and the first time she does, her daughter goes missing. This is a gut-wrenching experience for all involved. Charlotte is social, friendly, and generally well-liked. When Alice disappears under her watch, she becomes the target of everyone’s outrage.

A gripping suspense that deals with motherhood, friendship, and family. Her One Mistake combines domestic suspense with a bit of police procedural. While the police points of view aren’t told, much of the story deals with the investigation into Alice’s disappearance.

Her One Mistake is a fantastic psychological thriller. Recommended to fans of domestic suspense that focus on motherhood. Absorbing, twisty, and thought-provoking.

Books by Heidi Perks:
  1. Beneath the Surface
  2. Her One Mistake
  3. Come Back For Me
  4. Three Perfect Liars
  5. The Whispers

10 thoughts on “Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks [Book Review]

  1. Losing your child is heartbreaking, losing someone else’s child is beyond belief. I have seen this book around and thought it sounded good, so after reading your review, I need to check it out. Nice review Darinda.

  2. I found this book at Goodwill for $2 a couple months ago, now I need to move it up my list to read!!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.