Book Review: Her Daughter’s Mother by Daniela Petrova

Her Daughter's Mother by Daniela Petrova

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

BOOK INFO
Title: Her Daughter’s Mother
Author: Daniela Petrova
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Publish Date: June 18, 2019
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: n/a
Goodreads Ratings: Me 4.0 / Community 4.41

BOOK BLURB
from Amazon:
She befriended the one woman she was never supposed to meet. Now she’s the key suspect in her disappearance. For fans of The Perfect Mother and The Wife Between Us comes a gripping psychological suspense debut about two strangers, one incredible connection, and the steep price of obsession.

Lana Stone has never considered herself a stalker–until the night she impulsively follows a familiar face through the streets of New York’s Upper West Side. Her target? The “anonymous” egg donor she’d selected through an agency, the one who’s making motherhood possible for her. Hungry to learn more about her, Lana plans only to watch her from a distance. But when circumstances bring them face-to-face, an unexpected friendship is born.

Katya, a student at Columbia, is the yin to Lana’s yang, an impulsive free spirit who lives life at the edge. And for pragmatic Lana, she’s a breath of fresh air and a welcome distraction from her painful breakup with her baby’s father. Then, just as suddenly as Katya entered Lana’s life, she disappears–and Lana might have been the last person to see her before she went missing. Determined to find out what became of the woman to whom she owes so much, Lana digs into Katya’s past, even as the police grow suspicious of her motives. But she’s unprepared for the secrets she unearths, and their power to change everything she thought she knew about those she loves best…

Her Daughter's Mother by Daniela Petrova
Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads

MY REVIEW
Lana and Tyler want a baby, but they have been unable to conceive. Soon after making the decision to use an egg donor, their relationship hits a rough patch. After their break-up, Lana sees a familiar face… the egg donor, Katya. Wanting to know more about the donor, Lana follows Katya, and the two end up hitting it off. Soon after their friendship gets started, Katya disappears. Lana may have been the last person to see Katya, and she becomes a suspect in her disappearance. Wanting to find the truth about what happened to Katya, Lana delves deeper into Katya’s life.

Told with alternating points of view – Lana and Katya. Both women are unreliable narrators. It’s clear from the beginning that Lana is hiding something from Katya, but it’s not clear what Katya is up to. Add in Tyler, and the story gets more complex.

This is a well done thriller. Lana and Katya both have stories to tell. Though I couldn’t really relate to either character, I was invested in the story and curious how it would end. A compelling novel of mystery and suspense. Full of secrets and lies, Her Mother’s Daughter kept me up late reading. Fantastic debut novel.

I received a free eARC from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Her Daughter’s Mother by Daniela Petrova

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.