Fatal Game by Linda Ladd [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


Title: Fatal Game

Author: Linda Ladd

Publisher: Lyrical Underground

Publish Date: December 5, 2017

Genre: Crime & Detective

Series: Claire Morgan #10

My Rating: 3/5

Fatal Game by Linda Ladd



Private detective Claire Morgan has come home from her honeymoon just in time for Christmas at Lake of the Ozarks. And for the sheriff’s department, laid low with flu, to hand her a case guaranteed to chill her to the bone.


One of the homes in the local Christmas On the Lake House tour—the mansion of an aging rock star trying to turn his life around—has been “decorated” with the body of a young woman, arranged as a bloody angel on the balcony above his Christmas tree. There’s a piece from a board game, gift wrapped and left under the tree, a hint that connects this murder to other deaths. With evidence of a gruesome pattern appearing, Claire suspects she’s on the hunt for a serial killer.


But the closer she comes, the more certain she is that the killer is playing his game with her, just waiting his turn. The next move might be on Claire herself—or worse, the people she loves . . .

Fatal Game by Linda Ladd


Claire and her husband, Nick, have recently returned from their honeymoon. They’ve returned to spend Christmas at the Lake of the Ozarks, where the sheriff’s department is overrun with the flu. Claire and her partner, Bud, are private detectives, but they take a murder case to help out the sick sheriff. The murder was at the home of an aging rock star, whose home was on the town’s Christmas tour. The gruesome death appears to be done by a serial killer, who taunts Claire.

Since the story takes place at Christmas time, this seemed a good choice for a December read.

A quick read. The mystery part was interesting, but I wasn’t interested in Claire’s personal problems. The book was primarily told from Claire’s point of view, but there were some chapters from the killer’s viewpoint. I wanted to keep reading to see how it all came together in the end.

This was my first book to read in the Claire Morgan series. Even though this book is part of a series, I felt it was a good standalone read. I’m not in a hurry to read more of this series, but I might read others if I’m in the mood for an escapist crime mystery to read.

Books in the Claire Morgan series:

  1. Head to Head
  2. Dark Places
  3. Die Smiling
  4. Enter Evil
  5. Remember Murder
  6. Mostly Murder
  7. Bad Bones
  8. Devil Dead
  9. Gone Black
  10. Fatal Game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.