Clarets of Fire by Christine E. Blum [Book Review]

Clarets of Fire by Christine E. Blum

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


Title: Clarets of Fire

Author: Christine E. Blum

Publisher: Kensington

Publish Date: September 24, 2019

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Series: Rose Avenue Wine Club Mystery #4

My Rating: 4/5

Clarets of Fire by Christine E. Blum


Wine connoisseur Annie “Halsey” Hall must turn up the heat on a felonious firebug . . .

Halsey and the ladies of the Rose Avenue Wine Club are celebrating with newlyweds Penelope and Malcolm, who are thrilled to be opening their new winery. They’re also partnering with a cherished neighborhood eatery, Rico’s Pizza, which will be serving young clarets from their fall harvest. But as Halsey attempts to savor the bouquet of her Tooth & Nail Cab, a different scent intrudes—smoke. The nearby pizza parlor is going up in flames. As they rush to the scene, Halsey’s rescue dog Bardot pulls a body from the burning building—the pizza delivery driver—but it’s too late.

When investigators determine a rag soaked with gasoline in a bottle from the winery started the blaze, police suspect both the pizza parlor owners and Penelope and Malcolm of arson and murder. With her friends’ business and freedom at stake, it’s up to Halsey to smoke out the real arsonist—before somebody else gets scorched . . .

Clarets of Fire by Christine E. Blum


Clarets of Fire is the fourth book in the Rose Avenue Wine Club Mystery series by Christine E. Blum. A neighborhood pizza place is burned. The fire was arson, and someone was killed in the blaze. The prime suspects are owners of a local winery. Halsey and her friends in the Rose Avenue Wine Club are on the case to clear their friends and find the guilty party.

A light and fun cozy mystery, especially good for wine lovers. The entertaining group of friends adds to the fun of this series. However, I always find Bardot, Halsey’s dog, to steal the show.

A solid mystery with charming characters. Clarets of Fire can be read as a standalone, but I recommend reading the series in order. I have read the previous three books, and look forward to reading more in this series.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Books in the Rose Avenue Wine Club Mystery Series:
  1. Full Bodied Murder
  2. Murder Most Fermented
  3. The Name of the Rosé
  4. Clarets of Fire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.