Book Review: Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes

Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Can You See Her?
Author: S.E. Lynes
Publisher: Bookouture
Publish Date: April 22, 2020
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Series: na
My Rating: 4/5


BOOK BLURB

Rachel Ryder doesn’t understand how her life has changed so completely. When she was younger, heads would turn when she walked into a room. Her children needed her; her husband adored her.

But somehow the years wore that all away. She was so busy raising her children, looking after her parents… She can barely remember the woman she used to be, the one whose husband told her she was out of his league. The woman she is now just does the laundry and makes the dinner, and can walk into a room without anyone knowing she’s there.

She knows that she hated feeling invisible. She knows that she thought: what would it take for you to see me again?

And now she’s worried that she did something terrible. Because she’s sitting in a room, being asked whether she killed someone.

When no-one is watching, you can get away with anything…

Can You See Her? is an utterly compelling and unputdownable psychological thriller, about how far you can push a woman before she will break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, A.J. Finn and The Silent Patient.

Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes
Purchase Links:
Amazon | Books-a-Million


MY REVIEW

Rachel feels that she has become invisible over the years. Her husband and children don’t seem to notice her anymore, and she’s unhappy with this new feeling. A series of violent crimes is happening in Rachel’s community, and she’s been following the news to keep up with the crimes. Rachel feels for the victims and other invisible people, but now Rachel is being questioned about the murders.

The story is told using alternating viewpoints – Rachel’s point of view and police transcripts with various characters. Rachel is depressed and suffering from some bouts of memory loss. She makes for an interesting and unreliable narrator.

A slow-burning psychological thriller. The book starts slow, but gets more interesting. Some unexpected and intriguing twists and turns along the way. Dark and clever.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Can You See Her? by S.E. Lynes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.