Book Review: Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare

Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

BOOK INFO
Title: Call Me Evie
Author: J.P. Pomare
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Publish Date: March 5, 2019
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Goodreads Ratings: Me 3.0 / Community 3.97

BOOK BLURB
from Amazon:
In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town–brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he’s hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne–something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can’t remember the night in question.

The fragments of Kate’s shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he’ll help her fill in the blanks–but his story isn’t adding up. And as she tries to reconcile the girl she thought she’d been with the devastating consequences Bill claims she’s responsible for, Kate will unearth secrets about herself and those closest to her that could change everything.

A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth, even from ourselves.


Buy from Amazon
Add to Goodreads

MY REVIEW
Kate, a teenager, is living in a remote cabin with Jim. She has no memory of why she is being kept in the cabin, or who Jim is. She only knows that something terrible has happened. Jim says he’s trying to help her, but she’s not sure she can really trust him.

Told with alternating timelines – before and after. In the before timeline, Kate has some disturbing things from her past, but also some pretty normal teenage problems. In the after timeline, it’s clear something bad has happened, but the details are slowly revealed.

A story that combines memory loss and kidnapping into an entertaining psychological thriller. The main character is a teenager, and this book does read a lot like a young adult story rather than adult. Good for fans of YA thrillers. Suspenseful story of secrets and lies.

I received a free eARC of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.