Bonfire by Krysten Ritter [Book Review]

Book Review

This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. For more info, read my Disclosure Policy.


BOOK INFO

Title: Bonfire

Author: Krysten Ritter

Publisher: Three Rivers Press

Publish Date: November 7, 2017

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Series: na

My Rating: 4/5

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

BOOK BLURB

Nothing burns as bright as the truth.

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small-town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town’s most high-profile company and economic heart, Abby begins to find strange connections to Barrens’s biggest scandal from more than a decade ago, involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her closest friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

Abby knows the key to solving any case lies in the weak spots, the unanswered questions. But as she tries desperately to find out what really happened to Kaycee, troubling memories begin to resurface and she begins to doubt her own observations. And when she unearths an even more disturbing secret—a ritual called “The Game”—it will threaten reputations, and lives, in the community and risk exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote rural town of just five claustrophobic square miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of what happens when your past and present collide.


Purchase Links: Amazon


MY REVIEW

Abby left her home town 10 years ago, right after she graduated high school. She has since become an environmental law attorney, and her newest case takes her back to the small town she grew up in. The new case brings the company that is the biggest economic support in her old town under fire for pollution. While back in town working the pollution case, Abby begins to suspect there is a connection between the disappearance of a classmate ten years ago and a current scandal in the community.

Young woman returns home after years away. Small town scandal. Mean girls. From the book description, I was expecting more of an environmental crime thriller. It was a mystery thriller, but didn’t have much to do with environmental crimes.

Complex characters in a fast-paced story. I love strong female protagonists, and Abby fit that category. I was a bit disappointed that Abby seemed to waver some in strength toward the end of Bonfire.

Bonfire thrilling debut novel. Well-written and easy to read. The ending seemed a little rushed, but overall a great read. Good for fans of Sharp Objects, The Lying Game, and The Good Daughter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.