Book Review: The Thousandth Floor Trilogy by Katharine McGee

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGeeThe Dazzling Heights by Katharine McGeeThe Towering Sky by Katharine McGee

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. That means I may receive a very small commission, at no cost to you, if you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase.

Title: The Thousandth FloorThe Dazzling HeightsThe Towering Sky
Author: Katharine McGee
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publish Date: August 30, 2016 • August 29, 2017 • August 28, 2018

from Amazon:

The Thousandth Floor
A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something… and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction–to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world–and a romance–she never imagined… but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

The Dazzling Heights
New York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, five teenagers are keeping dangerous secrets…

Leda is haunted by memories of what happened on the worst night of her life. She’ll do anything to make sure the truth stays hidden–even if it means trusting her enemy.

Watt just wants to put everything behind him… until Leda forces him to start hacking again. Will he do what it takes to be free of her for good?

When Rylin wins a scholarship to an upper-floor school, her life transforms overnight. But being there means seeing the boy whose heart she broke, and who broke hers in return.

Avery is tormented by her love for the one person in the world she can never have. She’s desperate to be with him… no matter the cost.

And then there’s Calliope, the mysterious, bohemian beauty who arrives in New York determined to cause a stir. And she knows exactly where to begin.

But unbeknownst to them all, someone is watching their every move, someone with revenge in mind. And in a world of such dazzling heights, just one wrong step can mean a devastating fall.

The Towering Sky
Welcome back to New York, 2119. A skyscraper city, fueled by impossible dreams.

Leda just wants to move on from what happened in Dubai. Until a new investigation forces her to seek help–from the person she’s spent all year trying to forget.

Rylin is back in her old life, reunited with an old flame. But when she starts seeing Cord again, she finds herself torn: between two worlds, and two very different boys.

Calliope feels trapped, playing a long con that costs more than she bargained for. What happens when all her lies catch up with her?

Watt is still desperately in love with Leda. He’ll do anything to win her back–even dig up secrets that are better left buried.

And now that Avery is home from England–with a new boyfriend, Max–her life seems more picture-perfect than ever. So why does she feel like she would rather be anything but perfect?

Buy from
Add to Goodreads

Buy from
Add to Goodreads

Buy from
Add to Goodreads

In the future, there’s a huge 1000-floor tower in New York City. It’s a city within a city, where the rich live in the upper floors and the poor live in the lower floors. A creative, dystopian-type world.

Each book picks up shortly after the previous one ends. The first book introduces all of the characters, with only one new main character coming into play in the second book. The final book wraps up everyone’s stories, so (mostly) everything is all nice and final with the last book.

These are more of a guilty pleasure type read. The characters are all teens in high school and most of them are wealthy and live in the upper levels of the tower. Basically, this is a futuristic Pretty Little Liars / Gossip Girl type book. There are several main characters… and lots of gossip and drama.

Each book has about five or six main characters, so there are that many points of view. That can get a little confusing, especially keeping up with the minor characters.

My main issue with this book was the relationship between Avery and Atlas. They are step-siblings, so not actually related, but still, their whole relationship was, for lack of a better word, icky.

Overall, this is a fun and entertaining series. There are mysteries, secrets, and plenty of lies to go around. Also, the covers for these books are fantastic.

I borrowed these books from my local library.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Thousandth Floor Trilogy by Katharine McGee

    1. YA dystopians are my guilty pleasure, or, rather, what I read when I need out of a reading slump. I enjoyed the world of this one, but it is definitely YA. A little too heavy on teen drama at times, but an entertaining series.

  1. I just finished a YA novel with the same icky-factor haha. I don’t know if you read Did I Mention I Love You? It’s not dystopian though. I didn’t mind that taboo relationship really, I did however mind how arrogant and moody the male character was. My review won’t be as positive as yours is.. but itt doesn’t seem to be the case here though so maybe I’d like this one better! Great review Darinda!

    1. Thanks, Inge! I haven’t read Did I Mention I Love You? There was so much happening in the Thousandth Floor books that the relationship wasn’t the primary focus, so I could get past it and enjoy the other parts of the books. 😊

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.